1st Year MBBS : My fear, My fight..

1st year-MBBS-doctor-persevere-fear-fight-mental-strength-college-competitive-dhoni
You always comes out to be stronger, once you fight with your fear..

“I have been told that you will pass the first year of MBBS, only by studying in the last two months just before the final exams, and I had believed on this statement seriously, and that was my biggest mistake in my whole MBBS life…”
Yes, this is my story, of how I had taken things too lightly, only because of my mistake, and how I had tried to rectify my mistake, by fighting against my fears, by fighting against mental stress and with the help of my close friends.

Whenever any student who wants to become a Doctor, after long hours of study and after passing the tough competitive exams, gets his goal of entering into medical college, than he or she is expected to have euphoria in their initial days, and same was the case with me (but the only difference was that, it stretched too long).

Initial days was full of fun, plus fear of seniors and ragging, new friends, new instruments, learning new things, doing dissection of a human body was altogether a different experience, and I was enjoying every bit of it.

Some of my seniors regularly told me that don’t take tension about studies, you can be easily passed by doing studies in last few months. I trust them and was in the opinion that nobody studies in their first year.

However, as the end of 1st year was coming near, I could realize that my knowledge was inferior as compare to my counterparts, and no one takes my opinion, whenever there was a discussion about studies, but still I thought all these were normal and no need to worry as exams were not near.

But, as the exam’s date announced, I came to the conclusion that I haven’t read at least 70-80% of the syllabus, and I was in a deep trouble.

My friends who were the toppers of my class, they support me, provide me everything that was necessary for the exams.

But the main battle was to fight against the extreme pressure, that was building in my mind as I had to read the vast amount of syllabus.

But you know, when you are under extreme pressure, then from somewhere, the ray of hope did come, if you persevere in your efforts to achieve your goal, and the same thing happened with me.

Even after having the extreme pressure, I just keep repeating the words to myself that “Anshul, keep studying, give your 100%, something good will definitely happen.”

And yes, the good did happen with me. I passed my first year, with 60% marks (that is considered average, as highest goes till approx 75% ).

In my journey of first year, where anything can happen, one of my very good friend, helped me a lot, she was there with me in every bad and good times, and my passing of first year was dedicated to her.

My lesson after 1 st year was that :

  1. Don’t listen to others, if you realize that they are wrong.
  2. If you are in adverse situation, most important thing is to have a cool and calm mind, just remember, Indian Captain M.S. Dhoni.
  3. Friends are valuable, respect them, as if they have helped you in adverse situation, never forget them.
  4. Persevere, persevere, persevere…


Dr . Anshul



‘This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.’
I am a BlogBuddy with BlogChatter.

I am always happy with Happy Sundays, organised by MenakaBharathi and Mayuri.

9 thoughts on “1st Year MBBS : My fear, My fight..

  1. I think this advice from seniors is part of every first year medical student because I too went through the same. Thankfully I realised within 3 months that this won’t work and began my studies. But unfortunately I was in depression for the next 5 months thanks to my crappy batch mates and even crappier hostel mates. Also being away from home for the first time. So in the end I too ended up reading my syllabus in the last 2 months and scored 65%. I was so disappointed with myself because I know I can do much better than this. So now I’m in second year and I have successfully kept myself away from every crap and have been studying diligently. And I feel this confidence in myself and definitely higher self esteem in my eyes and that is the most important thing!!!

    Loved reading your experience Sir. Could relate to it on so many levels. And it’s great you had friends by your side. They make the journey so much easier.

    Like

  2. Yes! Anshul It is not only in medical college, I think in all colleges seniors say not to study, just enjoy. I sometimes don’t understand what they mean by just enjoy, how can one come out of the college and face the world if he doesn’t study in the college. I for one think college has to be taken seriously. the complete life is there for you to enjoy there after

    Like

  3. To be honest, I always followed that last minute study rule when I was doing my engineering. I guess, 80% of the engineers follows the same routine. 😛
    Great that you’re on track now. 🙂

    Like

  4. that’s what seniors are for! i think people find it cool to say – dont study things will just work – its not practical though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

